We're yet to review this location. Cant wait!
Walking? An easy walk from the bus stop right outside or anywhere near Spit Junction.
Driving? Easy to get to by car.
Parking? Plenty of parking in the council car park under Bridgepoint shopping centre. Access from Brady Street. There's a council enforced 2 hour limit.
A Brief History
Boronia House is a grand mansion which was built in 1885. The site of Boronia was originally part of a Crown Grant of 4 acres of land to Vinzenz Zahel. Bridget Zahel, Vinzenz’s widow sold the land to James and John Kearey for £1,700 pounds in 1885.
Boronia House was originally, one of two almost identical neighbouring mansions built in heritage style in 1885 by brothers John and James Kearey. The other house was named Telopea. The Kearey brothers were well-known coach builders from Redfern.
The construction of the buildings coincides with the growing fortunes of the Kearey brothers and the expansion of their coach building business to Castlereagh and Pitt St. The two houses were designed as grand villas with extensive gardens that originally ran from Military Road north towards Ourimbah Road.
Allyson Barripp in her 1983 thesis of Boronia suggests that both Telopea and Boronia were part of the land subdivision and grand buildings contracted by Richard Hayes Harnett Senior during the period. Harnett’s intention in Mosman was to build exemplary grand villas in order to attract a certain class and standard of living.
In 1952 Mosman Council purchased Boronia House for £15,750 and whilst still keeping its wonderful aura and timeless heritage style, modified the house for use as a Library until 1978.
Mosman Council then leased the House from 1978- 1985 to an advertising firm for use as an Art Gallery on the ground floor and office space above.
In 2012 Mosman Council completed a major refurbishment ready for a new era of entertaining generations of guests.